Be Dusty

I am a college student. The world tells me this is my time to find my place in this world. College is the first step to the American dream: graduate college, have a successful career (yes, in terms of money not happiness), get married, buy a house, and have children. Basically, have a stable life. But the thing is I don’t want to be settled, I want each day to be new and bring excitement. I already know my place and it’t NOT on Earth. As Building 429 sings “All I know is I’m not home yet; this is not where I belong” As a college student I am trying to live day by day for Jesus in a messed up world.

     This year has taught me many things. Yes, I have learned so much in the classroom and through writing research papers. But, the most important thing I have learned is how much GOD loves me. And when my world gets turned upside down, HE is the one thing that remains CONSTANT. I still remember my first Sunday night at the CALM. Joe Brummel got up and he said two words: BE DUSTY. What does this mean? Well, I will tell you what it means to me.
       During the time when Jesus was on Earth, many people wore sandals. People walked all day on dirt roads. The Disciples would follow Jesus so closely that the dirt that Jesus stirred up would get on their feet. I want to follow Jesus so closely that my feet become Dusty. I want Jesus to leave an imprint on my life and make it visible to the rest of the world. When I arrive to heavens gates I want the Lord to wash my feet and whisper the words “Well Done my Good and Faithful Servant” I want to live every moment to glorify God.
Leave a Reply

