Cold Tangerines

I have spent a good amount of my summer reading. I used to hate reading, but I think that was because I would read books in school that weren’t appealing to me. But now, when I find a good book, I can’t set it down. Sometimes I would rather spend a lazy morning with a coffee and a good book or chose to read instead of hang out with friends. It has been hard for me, because putting a coffee date with my book before friends has never been part of my personality. But it is something that I am learning. It is ok to have some time alone with a book or with my thoughts. I don’t always need to be around people. I believe that our society is always constantly busy, always trying to be doing but we never think or listen. My alone time has been good for me. It has given me a chance to unwind and just listen to God. I have also been learning a lot in just the few books I have been reading. These authors are just so smart. I wish one day God would grant me with enough wisdom that is  worthy to put on paper and people would actually spend money to read my words.
I have read a couple of books this summer, some serious and some just for fun. But here is my summer reading list of books that I suggest to read: Mere Christianity, Brown Like Coffee, Love Does, and Cold Tangerines.
I just finished reading Cold Tangerines and made me realize that I need to just celebrate everyday life.
“That’s what I want my life to be, like a well-loved gift. I think life, just life, just breathing in and out, is a great gift. God gives us something amazing when he gives us life, and I want to live with gratitude.  want to live in a way that shows how much I appreciate the gift. If life were a swear, I would wear it every day. I wouldn’t save it or keep it for a special occasion. I would find every opportunity to war that sweater, and Id wear it proudly, shamelessly, of days on end… I wasted a lot of time wishing I was different. I didn’t love the gift of life because I was too busy being angry about the life I was given. I wanted it to be different. But bing angry didn’t change those things. It just wasted time. I can’t take away the things that have happened to you and me, but what we have, maybe as a reward for getting through all the other days, is today. Today is a gift. And if we have tomorrow, tomorrow will be a gift” (Niequist 232).
I pray that I would live my life like my favorite sweater. Each day is a gift from God, and I need to live accordingly. So today, I have decided to enjoy today because it is a gift. I went to coffee with a friend and now going on a hike with a friend. I could be angry because my summer is almost over and complain because I have worked long hours. But instead, I am choosing to find the joy in each day. I don’t need some big extravagant plans to enjoy life.  I am choosing to enjoy ordinary, everyday  life.

Leave a Reply

