A Time For New Beginnings

Today is day 30 of my 40 days of preparation. As I have not posted how I have been preparing, I have been in meditation, reflection, and preparation for the new school year. August is a time for new beginnings. Today, I focused on new beginnings and goals for the coming year. My fear is that I will become too busy. I may be busy with good things, but I have learned that sometimes the devil uses the good things to block me from the BEST things. I am worried that my busyness will keep me from resting in Christ. I may be His witness and servant, but I am also His daughter and need to spend time with just Him. These two quotes were a real help to me as I became anxious and fearful of the new year, and I hope that they may help others.

Action without reflection can easily become barren and even bitter. Without the space for self examination and the capacity for rejuvenation, the danger of exhaustion and despair is too great. Contemplation confronts us with the questions of our identity and power. Who are we? To whom do we belong? Is there a power that is greater than ours? How can we know it? Our drivenness must give way to peacefulness, and our anxiety to joy. So concerned with effectiveness, we learn instead to be content with faithfulness. Strategy grows into trust, success into obedience, planning into prayer.
Jim Wallis in the Soul of Politics page 200

Father, I abandon myself into your hands; do with me what you will. Whatever you may do, I thank you; I am ready for all, I accept all. Let only your will be done in me, and in all your creatures. I wish no more that this , O Lord, into your hands I commend my soul; I offer it to you with all the love of my heart, for I love you, Lord and so need to give myself, to surrender myself into you hands, without reserve, and with boundless confidence. -Charles de Foucauld

Leave a Reply

