Fight. Finish. Faith

I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith. (2 Timothy 4:7 NIV)

Life is a fight. I learned this summer that there are so many things pulling me away from Christ. The devil is working hard to win me over. Just because i have Christ in my life doesn’t mean I don’t need to keep fighting. The devil is smart, he knows that I’m not gonna leave God so he has been making me filled with business so that I am too busy for God and for others. I’m not filling my life with bad things. They are good things in theory- church, school, intervarsity, and other extracurriculars. It’s just that I’m wasting my time with good things instead of the best things: reading the Word, praying, and investing in others lives. Not only do I need to fight for my own life but I need to fight for others. This is not an easy fight. Perseverance is key, but keeping the faith through this journal is the ultimate.
This week I realized a new take on this verse. It’s says finish the race. No where does it say win first. Sometimes I am striving so hard to finish in the top ten. I keep running faster but for what? Is it really necessary to get first place? I mean isn’t it better that I enjoy the race, stop and smell the rose and pick a friend up who is hurting or fell down, than to finish first. We all start at different places and have different paces. My faith is not a place to compare with other Christians and compete to be the best. What if we all just focused on finishing but not for first. I would like to see people stop and enjoy the beauty and to pick up somewhere- stranger or friend- when they see someone who has fallen on the journey.
Fight the good fight. Finish the race. And keep the faith.
“Father, my prayer is that someday you will say well done my good and faithful servant. You have kept the faith. Lord, at times I may be too busy for you or too focused on getting first that my eyes move away from you. Help to redirect my life so it is solely focused on you and furthering Your kingdom. Amen.”

Leave a Reply

