God is Love

“Love is patient and kind; Love does not envy or boast; Love is not arrogant or rude. Love does not insist on its own way. Love is not irritable or resentful; Love does not rejoice at wrongdoing, but rejoices with the truth. Love never fails.”
 1 Corinthians 13:4-6
It was a typical day. I went to my classes. Took a test. Did my homework. Went to work. Worked Out. But the thing was I decided today not to just go through the motions, but seek God in all that I did. So, I took my test for the Lord and worked out for the Lord. But also, I tried to seek out tangible ways I could add joy and life to my day.

I went to dinner with a beautiful friend. We talked about life, how God was working in our life and just dreamed. After dinner, I decided to head to Smokey Row for some tea and the Word. It was such a relaxing evening. I left after a couple hours to head to Intervarsity. I ran because I was already late. I didn’t come into a state of expiating to learn more about God’s character nor for God to speak to me. I kind of went as a snacker (just to go because my friends go) instead of actively seeking Christ.
Well God had other plans. God is love. Just sit on that. God is the perfect example to us of what love is. We sang the song “How He Loves” and afterwards we just sat in silence listening to God. Over and over I heard him say “You are my child. I love you even when _________. You are beautiful and I love you.” Christ is the perfect example of love.
As a group tonight, we replaced the word Love with God in the passage.
” God is patient and kind; God does not envy or boast; God is not arrogant or rude. God does not insist on its own way. God is not irritable or resentful; God does not rejoice at wrongdoing, but rejoices with the truth. God never fails.”
God is Love.
Next, I asked myself what if i really tried to love others. What if I went out of my way to be selfless and caring and compassionate. What if I was an example of love. So, I tried to replace love with Isabelle ( I know this is blasphemy, but just go with it)
“Isabelle is patient and kind; Isabelle does not envy or boast; Isabelle is not arrogant or rude. Isabelle does not insist on her own way; Isabelle is not irritable or resentful; Isabelle does not rejoice at wrong doing, but rejoices with the truth.”

What if people said this about me, what if people thought of me as patient or kind and so on…. The thing is if we were really obeying and listening to the scripture we would be asking the Holy Spirit daily to give us love.
Now here is a short exercise we did at Intervarsity tonight… grade yourself on the following (A-F scale)
____ is patient
_____ is kind
_____believes in others
_____ does not notice when others do wrong
_____ expects the best of others
____ is loyal
_____ Rejoices when truth wins.
After I graded myself, I realized that if I got a report card from God like I do in school, I would not be proud of myself. It would be the worst report card I have ever gotten. But isn’t this way more important then the letter grade I get in a course. So, why am I spending my time focusing on my courses and the letter grade. I should be focused on becoming more patient, and kinder. The encouraging news is that God does not give us monthly report cards and even more encouraging is that God loves us even when we fail on one or many of His commandments. I don’t know about you, but I am going to be praying that the Holy Spirit gives me patient and allowing me not to notice when others do wrong. I am asking that you would be praying for that for me as well this week. And please let me know if there is a way I can be praying for you.
Isn’t it funny how you can just be going through the motions and God surprisingly adds a little spice to your day. I had no idea, I would be learning about love today and praying for patience.
Blessings and Love.

Leave a Reply

