Power of Prayer

And pray in the Spirit on all occasions with all kinds of prayers and requests. With this in mind, be alert and always keep on praying for all the Lord’s people.” Ephesians 6:18

Prayer is not something that should be referred to as a weak or lazy man’s job. Growing up, I used to see prayer as a last resort, something for those who are too busy or unable to serve God. But I am finding the opposite is true. GOd has been teaching me so much about prayer this semester. Service, sure it takes a willing heart, but after completing some action I tend to start to feel good about myself. I can find myself saying “Oh, look what I did” or “look at me following Jesus and being obedient.” But prayer requires a humble heart. Prayer is literally telling God I am too weak to do this on my own, only through you can this be accomplished. Prayer is being able to give God complete control. Prayer does not give immediate results like service, it can take days or years to see the way God is moving through our prayers. Prayer can be difficult and even exhausting. Sometimes, I find myself in difficult situations where I have no idea what to do, but God doesn’t call me to spend hours finding my own solutions. He didn’t design us that way. He calls us to pray more when we don’t know what to do. This is why He gives us the Holy Spirit. Romans 8:26 says,In the same way, the Spirit helps us in our weakness. We do not know what we ought to pray for, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us through wordless groans.”
I am a talker whether it is specified towards God or others. I always find myself asking, “Isabelle, have you prayed about it more than you have talked about it” This semester Christ has been making it known to me that He wants me to talk to me, just as much as I do in my prayer time. The power of prayer is so strong, but it takes a humble heart.

Leave a Reply

