Life with a Capital L

Image

A trip to the farmer’s market can always lift up my mood. My taste buds go crazy as I try a ripe peach. The vibrant colors of the heirloom tomatoes widen my eyes. The smell of the fresh basil makes my nose deviate from the path ahead. The commotion of people around brings a ring to my ears. Lastly, the touch of the warm, soft bread makes my mouth drool. There is something so life giving about a farmer’s market because it is a place where all 5 senses are engaged in such a joyous way.

Image

This past weekend my family came along with me to the farmer’s market at the ferry building in San Francisco. There was something so raw and authentic about sharing my joy with the people I love most. Grocery shopping with my family was so much fun. We would stop to taste, smell, and look. Oh and I can’t forget about standing in the long line for our Blue Bottle Coffee (my dad is now obsessed) . It wasn’t the chaos grocery shopping we fall so easily in, where we rush in to pick our three or fifty items and get out as fast as we can. This experience wasn’t rushed. We were focused on utilizing our taste buds and just having fun with the raw food God created and intended for us.

Image

To say that our fun ended as we piled into the car with bags of fresh produce would be an understatement. My mom, sister, and I spent the rest of the day cooking what we had just bought. We madeKale Chips and Fresh Heirloom Tomato & Squash Pasta and ate lots of bread.

Image

Image

I think the reason I love cooking so much is because I love to take raw ingredients and mix them together to create something completely new that could not be made without the help of each other. I think that this can be a metaphor for our Life. When we allow Christ to take our raw self and allow Him into are life, we are made new. This kind of living creates Life with a capital L.

Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, the new creation has come: The old has gone, the new is here! 2 Corinthians 5:17

Leave a Reply

