A backpacking Life

I arrived in Frankfurt, Germany on Thursday morning with my friends, Alicia, Christian, and Allie. At the airport we met Vera, a lady that Alicia had connections with, who is taking our luggage for the week.So it was goodbye luggage and hello backpack for 7 days!

She drove us on the Otto Bahn (yay! for no speed limits) and dropped us off at the train station. From there we took our time understanding the maps and the train station and then hopped on a train to Berlin. The trains have been very easy to understand but also have taught me so much. Like give yourself plenty of time to catch your train, the app is very helpful, the German Rail Pass is well worth the cost, some seats are reserved or for the handicapped, Munich and München are the same place, there are charging stations but don’t forget what you’re charging, and when the train turns off that means its stopped for good.

Once at Berlin we checked in to our hostel. This was my first hostel and it surpassed all my expectations of a hostel. Alicia and I felt spoiled at this hostel, we definitely weren’t going into the hostel world with cold feet. We spent a fair amount of time in Berlin, learning all about the history this city provides and then set out for a 6 hour train to Munich. Munich is a beautiful city and I have absolutely loved my time here and the adventures that it has provided including day trips to Salzburg and Neuschwanstein.

It’s been fun living on only the basics. Some clothes, a toothbrush, my camera, train pass, and my dried mangos. I’ve enjoyed not being at arms length from my phone although my camera is (I promise photos will come soon) It’s been nice to try and get accustomed to the European lifestyle and time difference before my semester even begins. I’m not gonna lie though as nice as the hostels have been I’m looking forward to staying at the Holiday Inn on Thursday night.

2 thoughts on “A backpacking Life

  1. Pingback: Generator Hostel is no ordinary Hostel | Fabulous 50's

Leave a Reply

