My Fairytale in Germany

As a child I always loved fairy tales. I loved the big castles, the beautiful dresses, and the love stories. I would dress up as a princess for Halloween and hope to find my frog. Disneyland was my favorite, as a ten year old I loved to go up to the big sleeping beauty castle and get an autograph and picture with the princesses. So it was only natural when Alicia and Idecided to travel to Germany that I wanted to visit a castle.

Germany is the home for Castle Neuschwanstein, the castle that the Sleeping Beauty Castle is modeled after. We were told that this part of Germany was beautiful so we decided to go with a tour group, Mikes Bike Tour so we could bike and hike around the area.

Alicia, Allie, and I had some fun during the bike ride, skipping while singing and imitating cows. We took a short stop and swam in Swan Lake, it was a little chilly that day so we were the only ones in our tour group that actually swam. We ate lunch and met some nice Australians and then went on the Alpine Slides, which was a similar track when bobsledding.

DSC_0171DSC_0200

DSC_0228

DSC_0188My favorite part of the trip however was the beautiful hike to the castle. I’ve gone on many hikes over the years but this by far was the most beautiful hike and it led to a castle at the end! What could be better! The Hike
 DSC_0339
When we went on a tour through the castle I learned that the king actually spent more money on the castle then he had, so he only finished 16 rooms out of 60 and the government took it over after he passed away and immediately opened it for tourists. However the rooms he did finish were stunning.
This was probably my favorite day during my trip to Germany, however Salzburg, home of Sound of Music, and Heidelberg were a close second.
I have now arrived to Granada, Spain and off to start my program in my new city. I am a little nervous to meet my host family and start speaking in Spanish but this trip to Germany was a great way to meet some people in my program and get accustomed to the European lifestyle and a great end to my summer.
Leave a Reply

