The Ultimate Tourist

For the second half of my  vacation, I decided to go to London with Alicia to visit one of my good friends Jordan Langer. She was so sweet to offer her floor and navigating skills so we could have the best experience. She wanted me to see all that London had to offer so asked me to create a list of all that I wanted to do. Let’s just say my list was short and included all the typical tourist sites.

1). Picture in a telephone boothDSC_0017

2) Fish and Chips

DSC_0115

3) Big Ben Tower

DSC_0044

4) ride a double decker Double Decker

With Jordan we accomplished all four items in about 1 hour. To many I think Alicia and I may be a little two laid back of tourists but honestly I love it. I think it is what makes us such wonderful travel buddies. We hit the main stops to get our picture and then we get wonderfully lost in the city.

Jordan was a wonderful tour guide. She took us down scenic routes so we could see some other main attractions that were not on our list. Like Picadilly Circus, Buckingham Palace, The London Eye, Westminster Abbey, and much much more.

Picadilly Circus with my girl!

Picadilly Circus with my girl!

Jumping for Joy knowing the queen is here!

Jumping for Joy knowing the queen is here!

However, my highlight of the trip is when Jordan took us up to Camden to visit the markets. (side note: when she asked us if we wanted to go I proceeded to answer like the markets in What a girl wants). Throughout the whole trip I could not stop thinking of What A Girl Wants, possibly one of my favorite childhood movies. Camden market was probably my favorite because it was outside of the normal tourist attractions and showed me more of the culture in the city that Jordan calls home. While at Camden markets I learned that London is the only place that you can wear whatever you want without being judged. As told by my wise friend Jordan “

DSC_0066If you can’t find it in Camden you don’t need it nor will you ever find it” The other thing I love about Camden is that you can find any type of food from around the world. We got some great Chinese food, something that I was missing from Spain.

We then headed back to her flat to get ready for the night. We got all dressed up in our little black dresses because we had a hen party to go to. One of the girls in the London program had a ring that looked like an engagement ring, so she decided to throw herself her own fake bachelorette. We straightened out the story, she was engaged to Ben Archibald  and then hit up the London nightlife. I must say this was a very fun night and was like faking your birthday at a restaurant only on steroids.1380716_10200705579938639_1679778434_n

On Sunday, we did some more touring with Jordan, but first we had to grab a morning coffee from Starbucks. Trust me I love the cute cafes in Granada and the coffee machine at my school, however I’m not gonna lie I have missed Starbucks. In Granada and most of Europe they drink little espressos and I have missed my big grande coffees.

It has been fun having her as a tour guide because she is great at navigating in the city so we can take in all the sites instead of having our noses in the map.

In the afternoon she left us to go do some homework and it was the dynamic duo again exploring/ getting

lost in a new city. We went to a museum because they are free here and went to the famous Hamley’s toy store. We found PRIMEMARK, possibly one of the greatest and cheapest(relatively since we are talking pounds here) stores.

DSC_0129

That evening I got to meet up with another friend, Emma Grager, that I have known since elementary school. She is studying in London as well and it was so great to grab coffee with her and just catch up on each other’s life, relate to similar struggles and joys over here, and hear how we can pray for each other.  I loved hearing all the stereotypes about London that are true as well as telling her all the stereotypes in Spain are true as well.

954692_10202129668666822_952820067_n

It’s hard to say goodbye to London as I had such a wonderful time, but I am ready to go back to Spain and sleep in my own bed.

DSC_0050

Well goodbye for now, I’m off to Hogwarts for the next few days!

DSC_0133

PS: Remember how I said that we all got piercings the last time we were together, well we went a little tamer this time and got matching “dainty friendship bracelets” at Camden market

DSC_0068

Leave a Reply

